May I take your order…you sexy motherfucker?

Waitress abuse.

In so many books there is a skanky, gorgeous waitress you ignores our plucky protagonist and throws herself at the hero who is very clearly on a date.

I have never been on a date and I will freely admit that, so I can’t say for sure that this doesn’t happen.

However, I will also admit that I have never, in all my life, experienced a waiter or waitress that is willing to jeopordize their tip or their job by being blatantly shitty at their job, being rude to female customers, and hitting on customers who are on dates. So, I doubt it happens so frequently that when our main characters finally pry themselves out of bed and go on that monumental first date, that they just so happen to get a skanky harpy waitress.

I get that the conflict is a plot device, truly I do, but dear god some originality would be nice. Stop demonizing the waitresses!

P.S. I once read a book where the heroine got angry at the hero for flirting with the waitress who was, in fact, a lesbian and flirting with the heroine while glaring hatefully at the hero. That was a bit funny. Points for some originality.

Leave a Reply

